History and Officers

History of the Society

The society was founded around 1874 and the session 2012-2013 will be the 139th session. From 1874 to 1882 the society published their transactions and the Bristol Medico-Chirurgical Journal was established in 1883. The journal was published until 1994, latterly as the West of England Medical Journal. The society is now publishing this as an online e-journal, archived by the British Library.

The society is a listed charity: Registered Number 262439


Officers of the Society 2014-2015

President Professor Davinder Sandhu
Immediate Past President Dr Matt Hoghton
Hon. Treasurer Dr Peter Carpenter
Hon. Secretary Professor Paul Goddard
Membership Secretary Dr Michael Whitfield
President Elect for 2015-2016 Lois Tutton BDS, MSc.
Deputy Editors WEMJ Dr Matt Hoghton and Dr Sanjay Gandhi